For the second year in a row, the Pittsburgh Penguins are Stanley Cup Champions.

Though it's star player Sidney Crosby and goaltenders Matt Murray and Marc-Andre Fleury that typically make headlines, here in North Dakota we can celebrate another player.

Carter Rowney, who graduated from the University of North Dakota in 2013 became a Stanley Cup champion on Sunday as well.

Rowney made his debut in the NHL just this year (in January) and only played in 27 games during the regular season. However, he appeared in 20 additional games during the playoffs including in the Stanley Cup final.

Rowney becomes a UND Stanley Cup Champion for the 18th time in school history.

Other UND alumni to win the Stanley Cup Championship are listed below courtesy of Area Voices:

1984 — Gord Sherven, Edmonton Oilers (Sherven did not play in playoffs)
1986 — Craig Ludwig, Montreal Canadiens
1990 — Geoff Smith, Edmonton Oilers
1991 — Jay Caufield, Pittsburgh Penguins
1992 — Jay Caufield, Pittsburgh Penguins
1996 — Troy Murray, Colorado Avalanche
1999 — Ed Belfour, Dallas Stars
1999 — Tony Hrkac, Dallas Stars
1999 — Craig Ludwig, Dallas Stars (A)
1999 — Rick Wilson, Dallas Stars (assistant coach)
2000 — Brad Bombardir, New Jersey Devils
2006 — Mike Commodore, Carolina Hurricanes
2010 — Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks (C)
2012 — Matt Greene, Los Angeles Kings (A)
2013 — Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks (C)
2014 — Matt Greene, Los Angeles Kings (A)
2015 — Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks (C)
2017 — Carter Rowney, Pittsburgh Penguins

Rowney scored three goals during the regular season. He didn't score in the playoffs but he did have three assists throughout the Stanley Cup run. Rowney did an interview with Canadian tv after the game.


More From Super Talk 1270