Steve Bakken is the new mayor of Bismarck.

With all precincts reporting, the arch-conservative Mr. Bakken beat incumbent Mike Seminary by a comfortable margin - 6,311 - 4,103.

Minister Isaa Afoakwa came in a distant third with 458.

In other primary election results, Will Gardner won the vote to be the Republican candidate for Secretary of State - despite having dropped from the running following a scandal. Josh Boschee was the clear winner to be the Democratic nominee. Incumbent Al Jaeger intends to run as an independent.

Kelly Leben wins for Burleigh County Sheriff with 60% of the vote. In Morton County, Sheriff Kyle Kirchmeier wins re-election, with 72%.

For the soon-to-be vacant U.S. Representative seat, Republican Kelly Armstrong and Democrat Mac Schneider come out on top.

For Senator, incumbent Heidi Heitkamp and Kevin Cramer emerge as the candidates, surprising no one.

For Bismarck City Commission, Nancy Guy and Greg Zenker come out on top. Dennis Rohr and Amber Larson prevail for Mandan City Commission but the vote is close enough that it will likely prompt a recount.



More From Super Talk 1270