Changes Coming To Child Passenger Laws
New changes to North Dakota's child passenger safety law kick in Aug. 1 - bear in mind that's just under two weeks away.
A press release from the North Dakota Department of Health says children younger than 8 years will be required to ride in a car seat or booster seat unless they're 4 feet, 9 inches (22.86 centimeters) or taller.
The revision extends the time a child is required to ride in a restraint seat by one year.
The website has information on how to properly select a restraining device for your child.
Violating drivers could be fined $25 and lose a point on their licenses. Health officials recommend all children younger than 13 years ride in the back seat. And, children should ride rear-facing until at least two years of age.
The next "car seat checkup' is August 9th at Bill Barth Ford. Checkups are by appointment only. Get more information by calling Custer Health at 701 667-3370.