The new members of North Dakota's congressional delegation have taken their respective positions in the nation's capital.

The Bismarck Tribune reports Republican Kelly Armstrong was sworn in Thursday (1/3) as the state's at-large U.S. Representative.

Mr. Armstrong replaces Kevin Cramer, himself sworn in as U.S. Senator by Vice President Mike Pence.

Mr. Cramer unseated incumbent Heidi Heitkamp in November's election.

The elections of Mr. Cramer and Mr. Armstrong cement an exclusively-Republican congressional delegation, along with Senator John Hoeven.

Mr. Armstrong defeated Democratic-NPL nominee and former state Senate Minority Leader Mac Schneider in the House race.

“It’s an honor to represent the great people of North Dakota in the House of Representatives, and I’m ready to go to work to make sure North Dakota’s voice is heard in Washington,” Mr. Armstrong said.

Mr. Cramer expressed similar sentiments: "I'm so grateful to be serving the people of North Dakota in the United States Senate...[T]his seat belongs to them, and I am honored to work on their behalf in Washington."

[Source: Bismarck Tribune]

More From Super Talk 1270